The same educational opportunity should be given to both gender students

Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female student in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

proportion of men and women in universities

Though same educational opportunity should be given to both males and females, I do not agree with the idea of giving admission to the equal proportions of each gender in every university subject.

Having the same number of men and women in all degree courses is literally impractical. Firstly, the average world gender ratio of 1.06males/females does not allow this to happen. In fact, Chinese families have long favored sons over daughters while abandon of girl babies is of a common occurrence in Africa country since the need for an extra breadwinner is far greater than that of a homemaker. This results in a much bigger gap between the two sexes in those countries, which makes the mentioned notion become sheer impossible. Secondly, student numbers in any course depend on the applications an institute receives, and as some courses are more popular to one gender than the other, aiming for equal proportion is more or less unworkable. For example, nursing and accounting courses attract a greater number of female applicants while more men sign up for information-related courses.

In addition, it would be unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. University should continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. By doing this, both men and women have the same opportunity, and they know that hard work will pay off. Conversely, rejecting the best candidate for a place on a course in favor of the opposite sex application with lower qualifications and competencies is surely wrong meanwhile lesson students' truth in fairness and the role of education.

In conclusion, the selection of university students should base on merits, and it would be both impractical and unfair to shift to a selection procedure based on gender.