Should school leavers take a year off before going to university?

benefits of a gap year

Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university in order to travel or to work. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common these days that many high school leavers choose to start their work or go on a trip before going to university. While a gap year can bring immediate drawbacks, I am convinced that it is more likely to have long-term benefits for their lives.

Looking at the disadvantages of taking a year off, that school leavers may find difficult to integrate into the university life due to the different environment and learning method is the main point most worth discussing. It can be understandable that students spare the time for revision in the gap year, but the teaching methodology can be unfamiliar with the way they perceive in high school causing many obstacles to absorb the new knowledge. It takes a high pressure on gap-year takers. Besides, the life out of university is mentally and physically overwhelming to inexperienced school leavers. They need a good preparation in order to avoid being exploited at work and dealing with potential dangers on the trip.

On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages are outweighed by the positive effects. A gap year is an ideal opportunity for students to clarify their future path. The modern society brings either benefits or challenges to youngsters, so they find arduous to choose the dilemma of pursuing their dreams. It is advisable to consider this decision vigorously by travelling or working. The practical lessons from the trips and the jobs will sharpen thoughts and help students become more mature. Moreover, when it comes to applying for a position in a company, the employer has a tendency to recruit the candidate who possess an intensive experience in life and occupation.

In conclusion, despite the negative effects, it seems to me that the benefits of a gap year are more significant for the reasons mentioned.