IELTS WRITING TASK 2: the science and preparation of food should be taught in school time

Task 2: Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is suggested that students should learn the science and preparation of food as part of the school curriculum. Others, on the contrary, claim that the important subjects should be spent more time learning at school. This essay will discuss both opinions and opine why the study of food is as essential as learning the other subjects.

To begin with, it is undeniable that students should spend most time studying main subjects for their future career. These subjects including mathematics, physics and literature are necessary because they offer elementary understanding of calculating and linguistic skills, accordingly provide students with adequate knowledge for their study in university and improve career prospects. Therefore, the primary subjects are beneficial to students in terms of further study and job opportunities.

On the other hand, the science and preparation of food are increasingly significant in modern life. The reason is that the sustenance people consume is likely to affect their mental and physical development as well as the quality of study. Furthermore, learning to cook healthy food is necessary for a student's independent life in the future as they have to prepare their own food instead of relying on ready-made food. For example, research conducted by Harvard University in 2014 revealed that students who frequently ate fast food ran a higher risk of contracting cardiovascular diseases and tended to have poorer grades than those who did not because excessive intake of sugar and salt may hinder the activity of the immune system and the understanding and thinking process. Thus, a thoroughly understanding of nutritious diet and enough cooking skills are advantageous to students' health and study.

In conclusion, although the main subjects including mathematics and literature are crucial to students' future occupation, the science and preparation of food should be taught in school time. This essay discussed two contradicting viewpoints and justified the importance of food on people' health and study, thus promoting the education of it at school.