Sophisticated technology brings significant ramifications for the real connection.

The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationship between people.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Sophisticated technology brings significant ramifications for the real connection. The empathy ability has decreased gradually over the last 10 years. Technology also reflects a profound lack of awareness. While others argue that electronic media is used to broaden networking, I strongly believe that it ruins relationship dramatically.

Technology succeeds to shift the method on how human communicates each other in society. Recently, people tend to rely on electronic media for interacting instead of communicate face to face directly. As a result, besides they can communicate with their real friend, they also use e-commerce to broaden the networking by creating virtual kinship. However, it should not be forgotten that virtual kinship is less of empathy. In any cases, it creates shallow connection not deep emotional engagement. For example, I have 500 friends in my Facebook sites but only 5 % of them who I know them so well. Most of them are my virtual friends and I do not really care about them.

Humans are biologically driven to be associate and responsive to other need. On the other hand, gadgets diminish their opportunity to engaged with and care for another person. Technology is accustomed people to be individualist. A remarkable social experiment was conducted by sociologist Harry Smith in 2013. He concluded that in 1950 only four millions folks in the United Stated lived on their own, in 2012 more than 30 millions did. This figure is predicted greater in 2020 at around 50 millions people. People are take into consideration on their life and avoid to collaborate each other.

To sum up, despite the fact that e-commerce makes people broaden their networking, most of their virtual kinship is fake. They do not have deep emotional interaction. They also lost their ability to collaborate and to enhance empathy skills as the basic ability as human being in real life.