Space Exploration and Humankind Existence - IELTS TASK 2

Hi guyssss! I'm practicing IELTS writing and would like to hear any feedback or recommendations from the forum. Thank all in advance!

Topic: Space exploration is much too expensive and the money should be spent on more important things. What is your opinion?

too much money on space research?

My essay:

A long time ago, space exploration was established as a result of that human desire to understand outer space. However, some people argue that space exploration costs such an unnecessary huge budget that we should pool our resources to more important things. I don't agree with this argument and believe that space discovery plays a crucial role in the society.

First, the fact that space research is costly doesn't mean it's not value for money. In order to assess the merits of this science industry, we need to understand the intrinsic value of it. For instance, in the past, when smartphones hadn't existed yet, we could hardly see the importance of them and could never imagine that they would, one day, become such a undetachable tool of our lives. The case of smartphones has proved that it requires a long-term vision so as to evaluate the importance of an exploration effort. Subsequently, it is erroneous to prematurely conclude that space exploration is unnecessary.

Second, to understand the behind reasons for space exploration is to see why it's worth so much time and capitals of humankind. Thanks to the fast-paced technological development and the hunger for discovery of humankind, it has been long known that we, the human beings, are not alone in this universe. Hence, the expedition into space will enable us to verify whether there are other forms of lives, as well as whether there are alternative livable planets, besides planet Earth. Nevertheless, the advanced innovation of our society has created lots of global issues, which are gradually more harmful to our lives. And it is not unreasonable to claim that our planet Earth would one day become an extinct environment. These outstanding issues have explained why many scientists, environmentalists, or even businessmen have invested a significant part of their resources to learn about the outer space.

In a nutshell, space exploration can be considered as one of the best resorts to ensure the sustainable existence of humankind. As long as space exploration continues to innovate and is able to bring fruitful results, not only will we be able to gain extraordinary knowledge, but we may also be capable of discover another homeland for our society.