Sustainable development - government should spend money on railways rather than roads

Funds for the transport area

Whether national budget should go to railway or road construction when it comes to what determines a civilized society is an issue of broad interest. Along with different benefits of building roads, advantages of constructing railways are undeniable.

On the one hand, state authorities should give financial support to roads contributing for several reasons. Firstly, it is believed that people could travel conveniently on roads. Particularly, road users could not only commute independently but also control the vehicles by themselves. In addition, roads are argued to be the national symbol of any country. In fact, when tourists come to foreign nations, it is easily to evaluate the host countries through their road system at the first side. Thus, roads need to be invested more by the governments.

On the other hand, it is claimed that the funds should be allocated to railway system. In fact, railways are said to be more reasonable for the public than roads. For instance, car owners must pay large amounts of money on tax, fuel or car insurance, while train passengers only need to buy a ticket without any worries. Furthermore, public transport seems to be an environmental investment. This means it neither results in air pollution nor fuel consumption as much as private vehicles. Besides, traveling by trains is undoubtedly safer than commuting on roads thanks to the strictly high-technology system.

In conclusion, I believe that while the two systems both need the financial aid of governments, the expenditure should be spent more on railways for the sustainable development in the future.