[ielts writing 2] Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

Please give me some feedbacks. Thank a lot!

Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that more money should be funded to railways than roads by officials. In my perspective, I agree with this statement because railways are faster at carrying things and they are more environmentally friendly.

First of all, we can clearly see that railways can transport a large number of goods at a fast speed. This is due to the fact that railways are designed to carry a huge amount of loads, particularly they can carry some raw materials such as coal. Moreover, the goods and passengers can also be delivered faster because there is no traffic congestion like cars. For example, a train can deliver 300 passengers and tons of goods from north to south Viet Nam in just 4 hours long. This will cost greatly if we use other types of transportation such as cars to deliver the same amount of loads.

Another noticeable advantage of railways is that they are environmentally friendly. Compare to cars, the total amount of air pollution released by railways is far less severe. For example, A study by the Hanoi university of technology and economics reported that to transport 1 ton of goods, a train release 30 percent less air pollution compared to a car. Therefore, railways are more eco-friendly and deal less damage to nature than a car because of the amount of carbon dioxide emitted.

In conclusion, more money should be spent on railways rather than roads by the governments because railways can transfer larger loads and are more environment oriented.