"throw-away" society. Causes and effects?

The the throw-away lifestyle

It is true that people today consume a large number of products in very short period and then throw them away. In this essay, I will shed light on two main factors causing this practice, and also two major issues that come from it.

Perhaps the first culprit of this is advertising. To explain, the constant presence of adverts in everywhere has always been prompting vulnerable watchers to make more purchases. Teenagers nowadays, for instance, are willing to buy new generations of Iphone instantly when seeing their eye-catching ads, with hope that they would become more fashionable and have higher status, although their old ones are still perfectly functional. Secondly, it is the manufacturers who are to blame. In fact, producing non-durable products could help maximize the production expense, given the cheap materials and simple processes. Thus, products nowadays often have short lifespan and would be soon replaced by new ones.

The consequences of this problem are many, affecting all individuals and societies as a whole. To begin with, the over-consumption habit has led many shopaholic citizens into financial crisis, especially teenagers with serious credit card debt, leading them to depression and anxiety. Furthermore, since the number of disposable items are drastically climbing, people are more likely to end up living in land and water full of poisonous waste, putting their health into risk of serious deseases. For instance, many Vietnamese people have suffered from health problems such as diarrhea, dysentery after using dangerously contaminated water, soil, some even dead.

To conclude, the throw-away lifestyle nowadays could be traced back to advertising agencies and short-lifespan items generated from greedy companies, bringing many problems to people's finance and surroundings. Had it not been for better use of decomposed or recycled products and wiser purchases, our life will be more seriously damaged in the years to come.