Essay on time travelling to work or school

Many people are now spending more and more time travelling to work or school. Some people believe that this is a negative development while others think there are some benefits.Discuss both views and give your opinion !

In many parts of the world, the amount of time people spend travelling to their workplaces or schools has been increasing steadily. This trend is viewed by some as a detrimental development while others argue that it brings certain advantages. While acknowledging both perspectives, I firmly believe that the time saved from utilizing commute time is ultimately beneficial.

Granted, one might argue that commuting long distances gives people the opportunity to pursue a better occupation or getting education from prestigious schools. Residing around the edge of the city limits job selections, school choices. Consequently, in order to access proper employment, education, residents often have to spend a significant amount of time commuting.However, daily commutes lasting several hours can increase stress, reduce job productivity and contribute to a larger carbon footprint . Individuals prioritize personal vehicles, especially fossil fuel vehicles due to the limited public transport route and the high cost of the electrical cars. Along with insufficient road infrastructure , severe traffic congestion during rush hours is inevitable, leading to an increase in the carbon footprint. Furthermore, traffic congestion also lengthens the commuting time and increases stress for the driver.

It is also noteworthy that the cost of travelling could take up a huge share of an individual salary, causing unnecessary expenses, draining funds for other essential expenditures. Nowadays, the cost of energy has grown significantly which increases the overall household expenses , overshadowing other necessities, resulting in financial strain for many houses.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on whether should we spend more time on commuting, I believe that the drawbacks in terms of financial burden, personal well-being, and environmental impact are too significant to ignore.