IELTS Topic:Environmental issues"international Cooperation vs National participation"

Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual people to address. We have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at en international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the discussion about the protection of nature environment has become a controversy. Therefore, some start to believe that the residents and authorities at national level are unable to tackle the environmental trouble, whereas the perfect approach is the international collaboration. Generally speaking, this is not the case. 50

It is recognised that the international cooperation is a preferred option under some circumstances. Firstly, it is able to settle those complicate environmental issues such as climate change. Kyoto Protocol Agreement, for example, establishes a standard internationally to require different countries to reduce their greenhouse emissions. In this case, a single nation's effort is much less significant than a group contribution. Secondly, the international alignment has the financial advantage to develop advanced technologies to address the environmental matters. This is because most of those exploitation are long term developments which increase the financial pressure for a country itself. 98

However, it is undeniable that the participations of individuals and local government are indispensable. According to the distinct environmental conditions in different regions, those particular governmental policies are more practicable than the international synergy. For intense, China, a country with huge population, supermarkets are imposed to place a charge of using plastic shopping bags in order to lower the white pollution nationally. Moreover, citizen's involvements are always valuable and considerable in their society. Those practices such as applying recyclable cutlery instead of disposal ones in a family event and purchasing an environmental-friendly vehicle for travel are significantly alleviate the resource shortage and air pollution. 104

In conclusion, it is convincing that the international consociation is useful in some situations. However, countries are usually not alike where the contributions at national level cannot overlooked. 28 / 280