( IELTS essay) universities should give importance in theoretical or practical educat

Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Universities are places where pupil learns subjects in depth. For achieving complete knowledge, theoretical knowledge and practical experiences are essential. To succeed in this competitive world, I feel universities should provide a well balanced education giving equal importance to both theory and practical training.

To begin with, theory is the basic of practical training. Student acquires knowledge more easily when given relative theoretical examples to build upon. For instance, studying subjects like history or sociology, textbook examples allows students to unravel complex academic theories, which they could expand on. Moreover, through theories it is to pass the acquired knowledge of the past to the younger generation. Nevertheless, not all subjects can be taught by practical experience such as wildlife and aquatic life studies.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that students could find tedious and monotonous themselves in reading and learning academic papers. Human brain learns better by doing. For instance, university degree involving the evaluation of numerous long-winded academic lessons provides little inspiration for the students. On the other hand, interest can be stimulated through empirical research in the class. Thus, learning will be more interesting and memorable. Although, it is time consuming, there is no substitute for learning from making mistakes. Furthermore, job market seeks people with experiences and thus they can enjoy the fruits of gainful employment.

In conclusion, both methods have benefits and drawbacks if implementing alone. I feel that if the curriculum is mixing these two approaches in a right way, then the learning process will be more understandable, enjoyable and useful for their future.