IELTS: theoretical knowledge couples with useful skills are not only practical but also necessary

Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion should be the main function of a university?

As more and more people go to universities, the question about what should we teach our future generations raises several concerns. It is some peoples' belief that it is useless to teach something that students will not need when they enter the workforce. On the other hand, some hold the view that university is the temple of knowledge, which is why we should focus on knowledge itself rather than skills. From my point of view, I believe that universities should provide practical skills that can prepare us for future jobs.

Firstly, the reason most students choose to go on further education is so that they can have better qualifications and capabilities, for instance, computer skills, presentation techniques, negotiation training, to obtain a decent job. If schools only provide theoretical knowledge, students would have to start over because they do not have hand-on experiences, which might be overwhelming. The massive amount of tuition they paid might not be worth it.

Secondly, the employment market is so competitive these days that a degree is no longer a guarantee when job hunting. Certificates such as business, computer languages proficiency certificates are stronger weapons. For example, if two people both have an MBA degree, the one with language skills would more likely to be employed. That is, a diploma is no longer enough, unfortunately, students need to be both academically and physically capable if they are to compete in today's economy.

In conclusion, I believe that theoretical knowledge couples with useful skills are not only practical but also necessary. Universities should provide both as they are what future needs.

(265 words)

Did I answer the question of the topic correctly?

Or were I off topic?

Are the examples I provide acceptable?