HE USED HIS LEGS TO WRITE HIS OWN DESTINY

Of all influences in my lifetime, Kai is the one I most admire. Because of his ability to adapt to his life situation, his determination, and optimism, Kai proved that nothing is impossible unless you don't try.

Kai's parents died in a car accident before he turned one. When Kai turned four, after a bad relief, his both hands were completely paralyzed. Since all of the daily activities to him were very difficult to do, schooling to him was just a dream, that could never come true. At the time for him to go to school, there were no teachers wanted to accept a student like him. Luckily, Kai was an intelligent boy who could deal with all that life threw him away. Kai undertook a skill that many thought to be impossible: Using his legs to do everything instead of his useless hands. With a brilliant smile on his face, he thought education as an opportunity to change his life, so he began to practice writing by his toes. To be able to function, he first paired a piece of red brick between the big and second toes tightly, then, he started to carve on the ground the twenty-eight-letter alphabet. Despite the toes felt painful, Kai still practiced day by day. The sinuous letters on the ground were quickly transformed into neat and pretty letters on a sheet of paper by his own magical toes. Not only using his legs to write, he also used them to do volunteer and help people around. Through his hard work, Kai was finally recognized and supported by an organization to go to school. He always tried his best in school. And now, he is the top student on the graduation's list.

Through many obstacles might stand in his path, Kai tried to overcome with his persistence and optimism. He stands as an extraordinary role model for me that I hope to be and accomplish in my life.