IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Watching live events is still more satisfying than watching it on TV

QUESTION:

Watching a live performance such as a play, concert, or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Despite the availability of simultaneous broadcasting on television, some people argue that watching live events is still more satisfying. While the exhilarating atmosphere at those live events is undeniable, I maintain that recent developments in broadcasting quality are significant.

On the one hand, the option to watch live performances such as a concert or sporting event is stimulating because people seem to enjoy the exciting atmosphere during these events. Live performances, indeed, give people a chance to interact directly with their idols as well as other audiences who are likely to share the same hobby and fantasy with them. Football and baseball matches play a good example here. At the end of the match, football players usually give away their shirts to their supporters or it has even become a tradition for baseball spectators to bring extra gloves to catch the ball given by players. Korean-pop enthusiasts chanting and singing along with the artists exemplify this precisely as well. Such moments, as a result, might be an unforgettable memory or a lifetime dream for plentiful individuals.

Nevertheless, I firmly believe that watching the same events on television is more enjoyable which is attributed to current innovations in broadcasting service. These days, in order to attract more viewers, not only do televisions offer us simultaneous broadcasting but also an excellent view of the event recorded by high-quality cameras and professional reports which keep us updated without being disturbed by crowd noises. For instance, while live audiences can hardly understand anything due to narrow vision and noises, TV viewers can have access to detailed videos which are used in VAR technology during football matches to help referees come up with accurate decisions. Therefore, television broadcasting is widely preferred by viewers and experts who truly concentrate on happenings during these events.

In conclusion, whereas live performances bring to us so much fun, I believe viewers who completely focus on the event would assume television shows as a more feasible option. Additionally, given the COVID-19 situation around the globe, live broadcasting seems to lead the dominant trend.