'Woods Riding and The Dirt Bike' - Process essay review

I have to write this process essay or my english class in college. I didnt go to 2 of the classes bc my ex fiance died in a car crash and i have no idea how to do this. The topic that i have chosen is How to ride a Dirt Bike. If you can read it and give me some feedback that would be great. Thanks a bunch.

Beth Lynn

Professor Swanicke

English 121, section 33

13 October 2006

Woods Riding

The dirt bike is a motorcycle that is specially set up for riding over rough terrain as opposed to a road machine. Riding a dirt bike takes a mixture of common sense, knowledge, and precision. A beginner who is going to start driving their bike into the woods, trails, and sand dunes has to learn a whole new set of techniques both for riding and for caring for themselves and the machine.

Before you get on the bike, you should walk around and check it. First, make sure that the bike has plenty of gas and oil. Next, the chain should be tight but have some play. Then you should check the tires. They should have enough air in them that they do not flatten when you sit on the machine. Finally, one of the most important things to check for your own safety is the brakes. As a general rule, apply the brakes while trying to push the machine.

Next, there are a few things you will need to know in order to start and run a dirt bike. Some bikes have an ignition key. This will need to be switched to the on position. Every motorcycle has an ignition switch on the handlebars. This also needs to be in the on position. Then, below the fuel tank usually on the left side, there is a fuel valve. This will need to be in the vertical position to be on. When starting a cold engine you will need to put the choke in the up position. This can be on the carburetor or handle bar mounted depending on the model. Now you are ready to start the engine. Some models have electric start but most have a kick start. There is a certain technique to starting different types of engines. Bikes that are 2- Stroke, you just kick while a 4- Stroke usually needs to be pumped up. This means slowly push the kicker down until it gets harder to push. Then kick it as hard as you can with all of your weight behind it. Once you get it started, let your machine warm up before you begin to ride. You have to make sure you put the choke in before you ride because it could cause engine damage.

Finally, now that your bike is ready to ride you have to know how to put it into gear. Before you shift, you have to pull in the clutch and push the shifter down. Most bikes use the standard 1 down 5 up pattern. This means first gear is down and all the other gears are selected by pushing the shifter up. When you are ready to go, pull in the clutch and push the shifter down so that you are in first gear. When you take off make sure to slowly let out the clutch with a little bit of gas. Once you start moving, pick your feet up, place them on the pegs and shift by pushing the shifter up one so that it goes into second gear.

Now you are a novice dirt bike rider. After spending some time practicing, you will gain confidence in your ability to control the bike. Always use common sense and ride at a pace you feel comfortable with. If you follow these steps, you are on your way to riding safely and having a good time.