IELTS writing - Academic study vs pratical matters learning

It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

This is no doubt that all of subjects which includes academic-oriented subject and practical skills to be taught in school can bring more benefits to child in a modern society.

Educationalist think it is very important to educate child to be a rounded individual as they believe the more opportunity of learning about traditional knowledge such as mathmatics and literature, the wiser mind to be developed in the long run. In addition, academic study is very powerful in the formation of mental discipline and sysmatic worldview in order to help the children make sound judgements about problems they may encouner in future. This is probably true to some extent.

On the other hand, some people agree that teaching of practical matters prepare child better for their furture lives, especially in career life. From our own experience, we can find out plenty of evidence that individual who acquire practical skills, for instance, excellent computer skills, speak fluency bilingual lanuage as well as good interpersonal skills and so forth, are likely more competitive than their ordinary peers in the job market. Most of them can get a desirable job at mutli-national company with a high-salary needed by a comfortable life. Because of these advantageous, their path to the success of career is obvious.

In conclusion, I think that the core responsibility of school is not only concentrate on teaching academic knowledge, which is essential at this point, but also providing them access to the specialised knowledge in the real world. The interaction of both sides can help child to become more talented and able person to a society..