IELTS TASK 2 : ADVANTAGE AND DISADVANTAGE OF GOING TRAVELLING FOR A YEAR THEN GO TO UNIVERSITY

In some countries , young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finish highschool and starting University.

Discuss both advantages and disadvantages.

In some countries , nowadays , young people tend to go travelling or go for a part-time job for one year instead of attending University immediately after finishing high school. I belive that it will pay divedents for them . However , it still has some drawbacks.

Firstly , people who have a part time job before studying in University will have more experience than who don't. It is believed that people who has experience will perfome better in University because , in some cases , they can use their experience to prepare for subjects which they are going to take next year. For example , working at the restaurant or a hotel can give you useful practical knowledge in Hospitality subject.

Moreover , some students decide to go travelling after completing their studies in highschool. They believe that going travel is the best way to relax after a long , stressful time preparing for final exam in highschool. They will feel more comfortable and less stressful. And the more you feel comfortable , the better your perfomance in University will be. They can choose to visit their relatives who live apart from them for a year. After that , they will spend a hundred percent of their mind as well as time on studying.

Nevertheless, stop studying for a year can be a disadvantage and slowdonwn your studying process which will lead to late graduation. This means that students can graduate and have a full time job one year later than standard.Therefore , your goals in the future will be effected . For instance , they can waste a lot of opportunities in one year. Meanwhile , their friends are doing a good job , having more relationships and you are studying at University.

In conclusion, although going travelling and having a part time job can help you to relax and earn more experience in order to prepare for your next step of studying , it will cause some disadvantages such as late graduation.