IELTS Task 2: the advantage and disadvantage of media for communicating information

Compare the advantage and disadvantage of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective. (Comics, books, radio, television, film, theatre)

Throughout the world, developing technology influences the means of media communicating. Long time ago in the World War 2 era, journal publishing and audio forms of communications were completely medias which were used to deliver information, while audio visual of communication has been mostly favorite choice of people around the world. However, every mean of communicating information media has merit and demerit which affect in the human live.

Journal publishing was the first media for spreading news, fairy tale and encyclopedia. British news was the first newsletter which was giving updateable information in the World War 2 about Hiroshima and Nagasaki, for instance. Moreover, comics and books have been the favorite media communication which contains about the truth stories and knowledge such as science and literature. As a result, journal publishing was the knowledgeable media not only for transmitting information but also as a resource of knowledge. However, creating the journal publishing is needed long time and many raw materials are used such as paper, ink and labor. Sometimes, the journal publications are in failed to catch reader attention.

Audio communicating is the next generation of means media after journal publishing. Radio has been a famous audio media which produces information by voice, so people can hear the information directly from informant. Then, Japan was the first country where succeeded to develop this mean for connecting the air forces in the rural area. For example, jet force used the radio to give information for pilot from the air port about condition in the conflict areas and the main target which got an attack from enemy. As such, the new invention which was very useful utilized the analog signal to carry out the audio. Unfortunately, radio signal is sometimes cannot work well and radio gives people a limitation in seeing the visual.

Further, television is a powerful media communication which provides audio and visual information. Television appeared approximately more than a decade ago and some people called it as the sophisticated innovation. Television is not only bringing educative information but also is providing entertaining program which gives well-being for audience. Standing in contrast, there are some minus effects from television. For example, a very high number of advertisements are taking a big role in changing people's shopping habit and some inappropriate programs are easily accessed by children.

To sum up, there are three classification of media for communicating information; journal publishing, audio and audio-visual media. All of them are developing based on technology evolution and they have some negative and positive impacts in human live. However, those media communications are needed to distribute the information.