IELTS task 2: The advantages and disadvantages of the current population structure

Question:

At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

proportion of elder and younger people in society

Answer:

It is commonly known that the total population of the youngsters are more than that of the elderly in a large number of countries. My personal opinion is that the benefits of the current situation outweigh its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the elderly have more experience and are wiser than the young generation. Their experience helps them develop more strategies and can easily resolve problems when facing difficulties so they are more suitable for ruling corporations and leading the public. Nevertheless, the youngsters are more likely to feel panic or nervous towards tough situations and eventually fail to go over difficulties. For instance, the qualified candidates of presidents of the majority of countries must be over a certain age because the elderly are regarded as truth-worthy leaders.

On the other hand, young people can create more economic progress than the older generation. Firstly, the youngsters are physically stronger than their counterparts. They are more energetic and their physical condition allows them to work for long hours, which results in better work performance and higher productivity. Secondly, young workers can come up with innovative ideas to create more profit for the company. Compared to the elderly, young adults tend to be more interested in the new trend and technology, this helps them to think outside the box and encourage them to integrate the current model with their extraordinary ideas. For example, Steve Jobs created the first smartphone in his 40's, which was totally different from the original cell phone and has brought significant impact on modern peoples' lifestyle.

In conclusion, although the elderly play an important role in problem-solving, I believe that the young people can bring more positive effects to the society.