[IELTS writing task 2] Advantages and disadvantages of media

Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as Media for communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.

-Comics

-Books

-Radio

-Television

-Film

-Theatre

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

the most effective media types

Television, comic and film are three common channels to convey information to the general public. Among them, movie is the most effective tool to communicate information. The advantages and disadvantages of the three media are illustrated in the following paragraphs.

Each of the three aforementioned media has their own merits. Television's coverage is the widest among them. It is a free access to information as well as a traditional way for audience to receive news, especially the elderly's generation. Comic, which is a comparatively simple method to communicate information, usually contains a few blocks of picture. The delicacy of comic is that authors convey the subtle message with a few simple drawings which are easy to understand. In contrast, film is also very popular because people like story. The messages can be instilled into audience's minds with a series of scenes subconsciously.

A coin has two sides. There are some constraints for these media. Although television has been the most successful medium in the past decade, its influence is declining due to people's prior preference of the Internet and wireless network which are more convenient than conventional television. The popularity of comic is limited by the amount of content. Owing to the length of ordinary comic, it can be funny and easy to understand but not affluent in content. Notwithstanding the attractiveness of casts and scenarios of film, the cost of seeing a movie is comparatively high among the three channels. Therefore, it may not be an available choice of media for people who are sensitive to price.