[IELTS TASK 2] Advantages and disadvantages of genetically-modified foods

bioengineered food consumption evaluation

Topic: Recently, genetically-modified foods becomes a new solution to agriculture productivity. Discuss the advantage and disadvantages.

In light of technological development, genetically-modified foods which were considered as a substitute to conventional ones have gained prevalence among consumers these days. While these bioengineered foods may offer some disadvantages, I am convinced that these are outweighed by its advantages.

On the one hand, foods produced through genetic modification might exert some negative impacts on both individuals and society. Primarily, people tend to suffer from various health issues when consuming bioengineered foods. This means genetic engineering techniques could trigger abnormal gene groups in food, resulting in some diseases including food allergies and genetic disorders among people. Additionally, genetically-modified foods would require not only diligent research but also testing by scientists to make it safe for human consumption. Such a time-consuming process along with exorbitant expenditure appears to put a great economic burden on society.

However, my view is that there are more benefits associated with these genetically-engineered foods. The fundamental one is that the technology of genetic modification would enable plants to become resistant against diseases and adaptive to environmental changes. As a result, the crops these days are likely to yield a larger quantity of output, thereby ensuring a more sustainable food supply when compared to the past. Another positive aspect is the high nutritional level brought by just a small portion of bioengineered food consumption. For example, in Vietnam, genetically-modified rice with high levels of vitamin A would not only help vitamin deficiency but also reduce the risk of diabetes due to consuming a sufficient amount of rice on a daily basis.

In conclusion, I believe that despite some negative aspects, more positive aspects could be seen in genetically-modified food consumption.