TOEFL-Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are?

TOEFL-Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are?

It is true that some products' advertisement describe them objectively, while most of time advertisers dramatize those normal products. The reason is that exaggerated advertisements make products far better than they really are.

Some advertisements use noticeable words to attract people's attention and most of them use hyperbole. For instance, there is a chocolate slogan that "If you eat the chocolate you will enjoy the happiness of falling in love". This slogan is absolutely impossible. People can feel sweet when they eat the chocolate but this feeling cannot be compared with the feel of love. Another example of a washing powder, Tide, can also justify my statement. It is publicized that there is a Tide, and there is no dirty. My mother was impressed by this slogan and bought one. The result was that this kind of washing powder can not make clothes as clean as what it is publicized.

Other advertisements use magnified and colorful pictures to increase people's willingness of shopping. When people hang in the supermarket, they can find various shining package on the products. And the pictures printed on the packages are totally different with the products inside. The most typical example is the advertisement of instant noodles. On the picture, the advertisers depict a bowl of delicious noodle with fresh vegetable and great amount of meat or shrimp. When people open the wrap, however, only a few dehydrate vegetables and dry noodles are shown in front of them. Where is the meat advertised in the picture? It just a method to make the products looks better.

What's more, the most influential advertisements are depended on famous people. By the influence of those famous people, consumers totally believe in what they say. Icons say this product is more efficient then it is definitely more useful. Some people use this method to make medicine commercials and this behavior has much negative influence on the society: many medicines advertised by famous people were attested to be unqualified. Although these medicines are not high quality, once they beautify advertisement, they will become panacea.

Therefore, advertisement can really make products seem perfect. We should open our eyes to justify whether they are good by ourselves.