Advertising is known as the predominant factor which influence the high sales of popular stuff

Question:

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Answer:

Advertising is known as the predominant factor which influence the high sales of popular stuff, whereas some people argue that advertising pursue people to buy goods which are not their basic needs. However, while advertising have brought significant influence to sales rate, it can be argued that advertising has a negative temptation to manipulate people in order to purchase particular stuff that they do not need.

It is believed that advertising leads people curiosity to buy popular goods as advertising illustrates only the benefit of products. Study show that advertising has a significant influence in terms of increasing the sales rate of a product about 60 percent. This proportion is quite higher than the products which do not have advertising. This is the reason why many companies use advertising to promote their product. As a result, various advertising appear annually so as to pursue people passion.

In addition, some people purchase some stuffs without considering about the benefits of that stuffs due to the power of advertising as most advertiser usually make unique advertising or using famous people as its mascot. Shampoo advertisement for example, it always uses famous football player as their products icon. It makes people to be curious to try a product without thinking its benefits. Consequently, because of advertising, the sales rate of some products increases dramatically.

Therefore, the main factor which influences the improvement of goods sales rate is advertising. It is imperative that people should be more wisely to purchase some stuffs and consider the benefits of goods whereby they want to buy so as to prevent them purchasing unnecessary products.