IELTS WT 2 - Advertisment is more harmful than helpful to humantity. Agree or disagree?

Please help me correct it. This essay took me around 40 mins >"<

(299 words)

Advertisement nowadays does not resemble as that in earlier decades and it was truly an evolution in multimedia sector. Some people say this is more harmful than helpful to humanity. Standing on personal view, I totally disagree to this extent.

As a person who works in art related field, I regard advertisement as a type of Popular Art which also conclude music, fine art drawings, graphic design, visual art, light engineering... in several advertising methods such as poster, banner, flyer, video clip, etc. The most attractive thing is not what appears on ads, but the idea inside. Furthermore, advertisement shows how multimedia develops and how creative human are. Heineken's commercial video clips were great examples, their wonderful music and brilliant ideas always fascinate me.

Critics may say we are ringed and cheated by many illusions which were created by a lot of advertisement forms every day; however, they properly reflects human's life and desires by showing our social or technical achievements. For instance, buying modern household appliances could not make our family happier as we see in several commercial video clips; however, they probably help homemakers to feel relaxed when doing housework. That is the hidden messages in advertisements.

The last point, I agree that there could be a small challenge for consumer in detecting dishonest products through advertisement, but that would be a good reason for us to be more careful in making choice before buying something. Therefore, it might teach us how to spend cash also how to be a smart consumer.

For conclusion, because the more society and technology develop, the more advertisement goes up equally, I strongly believe that this is not harmful to human if we change our view about advertisement and do not depend too much on that in choosing goods and services.