AGREE/DISAGREE - CLEARING PUBLIC PARKS

Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever-growing population or to develop business and boost economies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree

Our industrial world has been witnessing the rapid development of economies as well as the population explosion in recent years. It is, thus, argued that natural sceneries, including public parks, should be cleared to make way for more accommodation and business buildings. From my perspective, I utterly disagree with this opinion, because I believe that natural sceneries have their own merits and the clearance of them is inappropriate.

To begin with, there are two main advantages of public gardens which are worthy of mention. Firstly, these parks play a pivotal role in freshening and enhancing the air quality, particularly in metropolitan areas. Through the photosynthesis process, plants grown in the parks might not only provide oxygen to local occupants, but also absorb emissions released form factories and industrial zones. The respiratory system of regional dwellers, on that account, might be significantly benefited and improved. Secondly, with a diverse number of trees, fountains and flowers consisted of in these places, the regional beauty might be remarkably fostered.

In addition, sacrificing public parks to more accommodations and workplaces, in my viewpoint, is unreasonable. We are living in a world where people have learnt how to manipulate state-of-the-art technologies and deploy the space above us. With technological advances, vertical construction with skyscrapers is a feasible solution to tackle the problem of overpopulation. For that reason, demolishing public parks for more buildings seems not to be a smart measure. Taking New York, which is a metropolis both well-known for excellent infrastructure and massive public parks, such as the Central park, for instance.

In conclusion, given that public gardens exert beneficial impacts on the air quality and they beauty of local areas, and given that the clearance of them for the purposes of dealing with population explosion and accelerating national economies is improper, these parks should be continuously maintained to increase the quality of life for local residents.