IELTS: Along with men, should the army recruit women?

SEX EQUALITY IN MILITARY'S RECRUITMENT

Some people think women should be allowed to join the army, the navy, and the air-force just like men. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the army should be made available for women to sign up. I completely side with this notion because women's capability, quality, and desire to protect their home are now on par with men's.

These days, strength and stamina of the weaker sex have significantly improved. Not only do women become strong enough to handle heavier jobs in regular life, but they are also capable of carrying out extreme exercises in the army without issues. For example, female athletes were able to finish the 40-mile marathon, annually held in Austria, during cold weather while some men failed in the competition. This type of heavy training is also used for special forces and apparently, women have proved that they are physically qualified for serving in the army.

Another remarkable trait that makes women competitive candidates for armed forces is their absolute discipline. While male soldiers have a tendency to only follow orders to avoid harsh punishments, women usually have the highest level of attention in training and stimulated campaigns even without rules. This quality of female will come in handy on battlefields where sticking to captains' orders decides life and death.

Moreover, the will to defend homeland of women is as strong as men. Unlike the past when female's biggest concern was the safety of their children, modern women have broadened their mindset to defend their country. In Somalia, a small land in Africa, female civilians successfully arisen against the rebellions to protect the rightful government from collapse in 2005. The country later acknowledged the great patriotism of women and dedicated a separate institution to train female soldiers.

In conclusion, I believe that the army should not be restricted only to men. Instead, modern women's qualifications already make them a valued asset to any military forces.