Ambition in Society - IELTS TASK 2

In modern society, ambition is more and more important. How important is ambition for being successful in life? Is ambition a positive or negative characteristic?

Ambition has become an increasingly crucial characteristic in contemporary society. This essay will explain why ambition is extremely important for a successful life and why it is a mostly beneficial trait.

An element of ambition is indispensable for being successful in life. This is because ambition is the foundation of goals and it fosters other characteristics essential for achieving success, including motivation, innovation, and resilience in overcoming hardship. Highly ambitious individuals are therefore more willing to innovate and devote themselves seriously in their path towards success.

Being ambitious is beneficial for personal growth. In order to pursue significant feats, ambitious people often step out of their comfort zone and expose themselves to new challenges, which allows them to learn more skills, such as problem-solving, adaptability, and independence. Such abilities are crucial across personal, academic, and professional spheres, helping to shape a well-rounded individual.

However, ambition is not without its drawbacks, as it can lead to health deterioration. For instance, a person obsessed with financial security may force themselves to work overtime in a long period. If not properly controlled, this may lead to exhaustion and stress which negatively affect their physical and mental well-being. Therefore, ambition should be adopted along with self-awareness to ensure a healthy and meaningful progress towards a successful life.

In conclusion, ambition is the major driver behind a successful life by fostering many characteristics essential for attaining success. While being ambitious can nurture personal growth, it may come at the cost of physical and mental deterioration if out of control. However, when adopted with mindfulness and responsibility, ambition is undeniably an indispensable element for a successful life.

Holt  Educational Consultant - / 15990

1 day ago   #2

The essay is being written from your personal point of view and therefore, should reflect an "I" statement in the writer's opinion presentation, inclusive of the 2 reasoning topics. Remember that the essay is not writing itself, you are writing it and it is your opinion that is being requested by the examiner for scoring purposes. Therefore, ownership of the statement is very important.

A discussion about the health drawbacks of ambition is not a requirement in this essay. It is not supported by any statement in the original presentation. Therefore, the examiner will deduct points from your task accuracy score due to unrelated discussion content. Discuss only what is required by the prompt otherwise, you will risk failing the test.