[TOEFL] 'Announcement of opening of new restaurant in locality'

It has recently been announced that a new restaurant may be built

in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why?

Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

When I heard the news about new restaurant opening in our locality, I was happy and excited because I have already tried all the existing restaurants and tired of going to same restaurants every weekend. But then I thought of other issues that might raise by this announcement those need to be prior resolved.

As I am a food lover, my first response toward this announcement is to first enquire about what's kind of cuisines will they serve. How they will be in taste? Also, my neighborhood has a lot more cafes than the formal restaurants. So, I will obviously appreciate any good restaurant opens near our home, since dining in restaurant much more savory than eating in a cafe. Other from the personal reasons, i think it will also provide jobs to the locals. Students, generally, look for part time jobs during summer so this restaurant might provide them few options.

But there are other big factors as well which can't be ignored. Most important is the hygiene. Restaurant should have good health rating and should fools all the parameters of full hygiene. I I will check it's other branches, if it has any in other towns, to see their hygiene standards before supporting the new restaurant. I will expect from these branches that they should be serving healthy food in clean surroundings with approved health rating.

Mostly people in my neighborhood live with their families so it is very important that new restaurant won't create any kind of disturbance to anyone. It's working hours should not be too late because many families have kids go to school early in morning. Also, crowd come to restaurant should be decent and civilized. Restaurant should not welcome any foul group of people because it will be unsophisticated for the families live nearby. There should not be any kind of noise pollution like loud music and noises due to restaurant.

Restaurant will be equally responsible for preserving the neighborhood so it should apply all majors to keep it's surroundings neat. There should be a proper parking provided to the customers by the restaurant so that they won't crowded the streets with their vehicles.

In conclusion, there are many personal reasons to support the restaurant but there are equal number of caution points which can't be surpass. So, I will support the restaurant only if it shows concerns about the neighborhood worries and respect the surroundings like other locals.