Argument topic: Dieting makes people fat.

According to National Institute of health (NIH) over 30 % of the U.S adults 'population is obese - a person who has an excessive amount of fat tissue- and numerous risks factors are associated such as hypertension, type 2 diabetes, coronary heart disease, and high cholesterol. Reversing this trend on obesity is a national concern and the institute suggests several solutions to curb this issue such as encouraging people to follow a diet. On contrary to NIH's suggestion the subject on hand claims "Dieting makes people fat "; the reason why the claim needs to be examined closely. I strongly believe the claim is questionable and I will demonstrate why choosing the suitable diet decreases fat in human body.

Before going any further, let's define dieting. Dieting it this context is choosing a specific food that helps to lose weight and to burn fat.

If the dieting is the choice of food that has less fat or brings less calories than what one needs, how will that make people fat? Some diets have scientifically substantiated facts of making people lose weight. The Weight Watchers diet for example is proved to be very successful in an article written by ECoseed. The research conducted both in the U.S and in the U.K. ( ECoseed, 2011) investigated the weight loss progress of 740 obese study participants who were practicing a variety of dieting techniques including Weight Watchers, Slimming World, Rosemary Conley, a group-based dietetics program, one to one counseling with a GP and one to one counseling at a pharmacy. After 12 weeks of following the diets or medical advice, all groups had seen results of weight loss, but it varied from a loss of 4.4kg for the Weight Watchers dieters to 1.4kg for those adhering to GP advice. This research clearly demonstrates that diet help people to burn fat instead of building it.

Another example of dieting that has proven to be very effective in losing weight is the vegetarian diet. A scientific review published in April 2006 Nutrition Reviews shows that a vegetarian diet is highly effective for weight loss. The review even stressed that Vegetarian populations tend to be slimmer than meat-eaters and compiled data from 87 previous studies where the weight-loss effect does not depend on exercise or calorie-counting, and occurs at a rate of approximately 1 pound per week. In the same way , Sabate J and Wien M state that epidemiologic studies indicate that vegetarian diets are associated with a lower body mass index (BMI) and a lower prevalence of obesity in adults and children. The review suggests that plant based diet is a sensible method to prevent obesity in children ( Sabate J, Wein M 2010).Once again, this is a vivid example of how dieting brings successful results in burning fats.

Some people may say the problem of dieting is the compliance to the directives and restrictions are often too hard for people to follow and ultimately some of them may fall back into their old eating habits which make them gain weight again. That can be true in some cases. Of course more than thousands of diets exist, their guidelines vary considerably as well as the eating habits of people; therefore each one of them doesn't work for everybody. Studies show that once a diet offers flexibility to people to follow but focuses on burning the amount of calories more the amount taken in the same period of time, it works successfully by enhancing the compliance of followers. For instance during the study, EcoSeed, compared the effectiveness of four weight diet programs including Weight Watcher program and 2 types of counseling. Weight Watcher program was found to be the most effective due to its flexibility and because it allows people to eat what they want in a day as long as they do not exceed their daily point allowance ( EcoSeed, 2011). Also a diet when it is customized to one's physical and physiological states as well as his expectations is likely to succeed. A diet that works with a woman who is willing to lose weight to become skinny is not the same as the one that a man who is willing to lose fat and build muscles should follow. Therefore diets really work when it is really tailored to each follower's reality.

Several dieting program proved their success through scientific evaluation and that contradicts the statement " Dieting makes people fat". Though, dieting is not an easy behavior to follow and one can regain weight once he is no longer compliant to the recommendations. However, there is still a way to succeed in burning fat that is a careful choice of the specific diet that matches the habits and ensures a compliance in a long run.