IELTS task 2: Artificial intelligence used to drive car

Topic:

Nowadays, artificial intelligence is being used to drive car.

Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Recently, automobile driven by artificial intelligence is becoming more and more popular. This is due to the need to cut cost of transportation industry. The progress should be viewed positively as it will make our life more convenient.

Self-driving car appeared to satisfy the demand to reduce expense of transportation industry. Recent surveys showed that an average taxi service business spends 40% of their expense on driver wage and human resources management cost. Saving this cost to invest more in vehicle and customer services will result in higher income for the company and better experience for customers. This can be done by replacing the traditional vehicle by driverless car. By doing this, business will no longer need to hire drivers and manage them, thus, a lot of expense can be saved. For example, autonomous buses used to take workers to work are being tested in Texas, USA. They helped solve the problem of driver shortage and cut off labor expense effectively.

Self-driving vehicle should be considered a good development as it makes human life more convenient. In order to travel by car, we have to spend time and money to learn driving skill or hire a driver and depend on him to take us to where we want to go. On the contrary, autonomous cars give people the freedom to travel anywhere anytime without acquiring driving skill. It is estimated that an average person in Vietnam spends at least 3 months and 2000 US dollar to learn how to drive. By owning a vehicle driven by artificial intelligence, we can save this cost to spend on other things.

In conclusion, vehicle driven by artificial intelligence appeared as a result of the attempt to reduce labor related expense. As this invention help improve our living standards, we need to see it as a good development.