BARCELONA BEACH (Lake Erie) - observation essay

1. For the purposes of the observation essay, you will conduct your own research by creating field notes. Field notes are considered primary sources.

2. Observe a person, place, animal, or object at least three times for a minimum of 15 minutes in each session. Keep careful field notes and type them.

3. Use the "Invention" section of chapter 4 in the textbook, as well as the resources on primary research, to assist you in completing the assignment.

4. GCU style is not required, but solid academic writing is expected.

Barcelona Beach (Lake Erie)

On this warm spring day I have decided to visit the beach though the season is not quite right for beach goers, I have always been attracted to the beach from season to season to relish the changing scenery and patterns of life that goes unnoticed by most. As I prepare myself for the drive, I glance at the thermometer on a nearby tree in my yard. It reads seventy-two degrees Fahrenheit. A beautiful day it seems with a light breeze, perfect for letting the top down on my car during the semi-long drive to the beach. I will only be driving for about forty five minutes but letting the top down will help set the mood for the day I have planned at the beach with the light breeze, sunshine, and sounds of nature along the country back roads that lead to Barcelona.

After I lock up my house, hop into my car, and say a silent prayer before I begin my trip, I am on my way in my shiny sky blue Sebring Touring convertible with the sun in my face and the wind in my hair. Once I reach the parking area for the Barcelona shoreline, I notice that the lot is deserted and I look into the distance past the food shops and marinas to the shoreline and take in the recently untouched beauty of Barcelona. As I step out of my car and begin my short walk to the sand, I can already hear the seagulls gulling away with each other over whatever food may be found in the sand and waters ahead. I catch the faint scent of fish on the passing breeze as I walk. Finally I stop upon reaching a spot in the sand where the jagged rocks are scarce and sand is soft and warm thanks to the heat of the sun. I remove my flip flops and relish the soft yet grainy sand between my wiggling toes.

As I stand there, I begin to take in the magnificent beauty of something much grander than I. Now a bit later in the day from the time I started my trip and not a cloud can be seen in the sky and barely a breeze felt as tiny little waves meet the shore with soft nature music for my ears. The shoreline and sands have not been touched all winter save for the occasional seasonal birds, intense snow and ice fisherman. Some left over debris can be seen tucked within the sands here and there but all else has been buried or picked up by last autumn's cleanup crews. Spring has come with the budding of leaves and flowers in the nearby wooded areas. I sit in the sand, close my eyes and listen. Songbirds can be heard singing along with the fast fluttering winds of humming birds and dragonflies. Seagulls call to each other in the way that they always do. In the distance not far behind, I hear the rustling of some unknown yet native creatures of the area. I feel as though I have slipped off into another world. I am happy, relaxed, and rejuvenated as small droplets of ocean spray meet my face upon a surprise whip of wind. Time passes as I lose myself in the beauty of nature.

A small spider crosses over my foot; I jump up as I am startled from my current mood though it disappears almost as fast as it came. My heart rate slowly calms again and I have decided to take a short walk through the shallow water where the shore meets the sand and rocks. I put my sandals on again for the area I intend to walk upon isn't as pleasant as the soft sandy area I chose to stand in before. Instead it is filled with big and small, smooth and jagged rocks, pebbles, and some sea glass. As I start my little walk, it began to lightly rain. Looking up to the sky, I notice some storm clouds that were not present before. Ever refreshing is the falling rain drops, slightly cooler than the current temperature, however I feel as though the time to head home has arrived, though I would have liked to walk a bit longer and search for sea glass along the way. I usually collect some for my children for they have an immense collection of sea glass that they keep in a huge jar on our front porch. So much for that idea today.

Turning back towards from whence I came, I see all of the little shops and houses that line the edges of the wooded areas beyond the sand and rock. Abandoned and ghostly looking in the changing weather conditions, I imagine what the scene is going to look like once summer hits and the hustle and bustle of tourists and beach goers are always present. I imagine the place will be pretty crowded and noisy with litter covering the walkways and sideways. I think I like the current scene better as it is serene and quiet save for the wild life. Who would give up the chance to come here alone and get away? Apparently not many come around this time of year for I am the only one around as far as my eyes can see. Finally reaching my car, I realize I left my top down. Cursing myself as I get in, I prepare myself for the wet ride home as my seats are slightly more than damp. I start my car, say a small prayer for the trip home and off I go.