IT IS BETTER TO SPEAK WELL RATHER THAN TO WRITE WELL IN OUR WORK/LIFE

verbal skills evaluation

There have been some discussions about the important of speaking skills over writing skills. As far as I am concern, each of these skills plays a crucial role in our life, but if I should choose one skill whose advantages are more likely to overweigh the other, I would say that it is communication skill.

First, when you meet someone for the first time, the way you speak is really important in making the impression. Most people believe that how you speak partly reveals who you are. If you first speak to someone and you speak clearly and fluently, you will leave a good impression on him. Or else, he might end up thinking that you are not an interesting person, and that will affect the relationship between you and that man later.

Second, if you are able to speak well, you have more chances to develop your social relationships. When people first meet new friends, they tend share their interests or attitude towards things, and those with the same interests make friends together. Therefore, being able to communicate well means that you enlarge your social relationships. With my personal experience, I have never seen someone with a good interpersonal skill that has just a few friends.

Last but not least, people who are good at speaking are more likely to be successful at work. Generally speaking, all jobs require communication as a basic skill. For example, every day you must work with a lot of partners, discuss with your boss, even you have to negotiate with partners from another company. Hence, speaking skill is crucial to your career. It does not only help you get along with your partners but also achieve specific goal in your job.

To sum up, both speaking and writing skills are truly important in our daily lives as well as our jobs. Although I believe that being able to speak well seem to be more helpful than writing well, we should attempt to manage and master both skills.