There is no better time to be alive than now (really?)

Advances in science and technology and other areas of society in the last 100 years have transformed the way we live as well as postponing the day we die. There is no better time to be alive than now. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Today we no longer fear any contagious diseases, kudos to the modern technologies and the latest medical advancements. These have enabled humans to prevent themselves from being afflicted with various diseases such as cardiovascular diseases and obesity as well as survive them through surgeries. As a result, we now have longer life expectancies. As such, many believe that this is the best time to live and I agree to the aforementioned statement only to a certain degree.

It is an irrefutable fact that medical line has improved prodigiously that it had literally wiped out diseases like tuberculosis (TB) and smallpox that can lead to death if not cured at an early stage. As the popular maxim goes "Prevention is better than cure", a lot of vaccination programs have been launched and carried out consistently in schools and also in hospitals. Apart from that, enlightening talks and campaigns are being organized from time to time in order to educate the public about their health. Most importantly, now, there are health shows in televisions and radios. On top of that, the contributions of the food industries should not be neglected as well. After several researches, organic food materials, for instance organic rice, vegetables and fruits are now easily obtained in the market. In short, these prevention methods have undoubtedly kept plenty of diseases at bay.

Furthermore, nowadays we are exposed to numerous surgeries unlike centuries ago. Examples include bypass surgery to remove clogged arteries and replacing them with unclogged arteries to provide an alternative pathway for blood flow and laser treatment to eliminate any growth that can be detrimental to health. Moreover, today, we also benefit from the most recent facility, namely tele -medicine, whereby a doctor can consult another doctor from any part of the world when conducting surgeries. To conclude, medical advancements have made indeed made humans' life prolonged and convenient.

It may be true that advances in science and technology are advantageous to mankind. Nevertheless, the increase in longevity have been accompanied by a host of age-related diseases such as Alzheimer's, decline in vision and hearing abilities as well as loss in bone and muscle that are incurable. Researches are being conducted to find the appropriate medications for those diseases and also for others like cancer and dengue. Besides, some people do not really appreciate the advancements or the prevention programs held. They just do not seem to have changed their lifestyles but continue to live in the way of life they want. Thus, in this condition, all those progress in various fields seems to be disadvantageous.

To put it in a nutshell, countless prevention events are being established and more medical progressions are constantly taking place. Hence, we should equip ourselves with valuable nuggets of information regarding these as well as learn to change our lifestyles so that we will be in good health condition. By so doing, hopefully we can be as fit as a fiddle for a longer time.