Some businesses find that when new employees join them after finishing their education, they lack...

Some businesses find that when new employees join them after finishing their education, they lack basic interpersonal skills such as the ability to work with their colleagues as part of a team. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

With an abundance of young hires to choose from, employers demand more qualified candidates than ever before. However, companies complain that new employees lack many applied skills, such as the ability to work well in teams and communicate effectively, and uphold a professional demeanor. In this case, several contributed factors will be analyzed before drawing the solution.

One reason that students may have poorly developed social skills is the lack of emphasis on them in a traditional educational setting. All the subjects only provide theoretical education, student do not get experience to develop good communication and interpersonal skills. Taking class condition as an example, student come to class and the class provide lecturer, the only opportunity for student to learn interpersonal skill by doing their team homework with their peer. In this case team study only temporary and in a brief time, scholars do not get extra opportunity to explore theirself.

Our educational system has to be revamped to solve this problem by maximizing student's potential both personally and professionally. Universities need to put emphasis on creating employable men and women who will be able to fit into their roles in the workplace. Colleges should also arrange workshops and training where students can pick up essential vocational and communication skills. In addition, after getting soft skill training, student should be provided to learn experiential learning where students are given well-structured opportunities for direct interaction with employers such us internships and field visits. In other words, universities should shift their focus from theory to practical.

To conclude, our traditional education system that focuses on theory should be transformed by giving applied training improving student's professional value. In addition student willingness to improve their interpersonal skills is also needed by self learning.