Challenges of learning a new language

foreign language STUDY - ISSUES, EXPERIENCES

Many people believe that learning a foreign language is a very difficult task. What are the most difficult things about learning a foreign language? What is the best way to overcome them? Explain and include your personal experience or knowledge of these problems.

It is true that a large number of people find it hard to acquire a new language. Although the second language learners might face several difficulties, there are some useful methods to deal with them.

One of the most frequent problems the language learners go through is comprehension. Despite of the good vocabulary knowledge, they struggle a lot to understand the native speakers. However, speaking the language which is completely different from your native one is probably much more challenging, because it involves both cognitive and motor skills. In other words, you have to think and act at the same time. That's why it takes non-native speakers great effort to become fluent in the foreign languages.

Hopefully, there are some helpful ways of removing the obstacles to this learning process. First of all, it is necessary to expose yourself to the language you're studying as much as possible. Also, it is important to listen to or read the things you're really passionate about. Personally, I've improved my understanding of English by watching open lectures on Youtube and reading a lot of interesting articles and books in English. However, you may not get the same results in speaking with this method only. In order to express your thoughts effortlessly, you should practice speaking in the targeted language at least an hour a day. For example, my speaking ability has been enhanced, since I started talking to myself in English on a daily basis.

In conclusion, learning a new language may seem tough for various reasons, such as difficulties in understanding and speaking , while using some strategies may help us through these problems.