[TOEFL] The characteristics of NEIGHBORS - Specific details and examples

Neighbors are the people who live near us. In your opinion, what are the qualities of a good neighbor? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Neighbors can affect our lives in negative or positive ways. Neighbors can be our best friends or worst enemies. I think that having a good neighbor is truly a valuable gift. To me, some qualities of a good neighbor are to be helpful and caring. It's also good to have a sociable and outgoing one. It's very important to have a reliable neighbor, by the way.

One of the significant characteristics of a nice neighbor is to be helpful and caring. Most of us, whether we want it or we don't, may have to communicate with our neighbors someday. We and our neighbors may face common problems in our in common places of living or communities someday in the future. It would be great if our neighbors are caring and helpful regarding those problems. If we have neighbors who are indifferent and selfish, our problems may never be resolved and therefore we would have annoying lives and interactions with each other.

It's good to have neighbors who are sociable and outgoing and friendly. Neighbors with these qualities can make us have happier lives. We can become friends with them and spend our free times together. For example, we can hang out or travel with them or go picnic. This kind of neighbors can add more enjoyment to our lives.

A good neighbor should also be reliable. Reliability is a very important factor. We all need someone or a neighbor whom we can put our trust in him. For instance, if we live in an unsafe place and go away or travel for a long time, we may need someone to keep an eye on our houses and call us if something goes wrong with our places in our absence.

People may have different viewpoints about qualities of a good neighbor but I think that most of them

would rather have neighbors who are nice and helpful; people whom they can trust and are sociable and outgoing.