[IELTS TASK 2] Children's engagement in paid work. Right or wrong?

Topic:In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility.

What are your opinion on this?

Apart from those who are born with silver spoons in their mouth, there are many children who commit to paid jobs at an early age. While some people hold firmly to the belief that it is to the benefit of the children as they accumulate experience and lifetime lessons throughout working process, I profoundly disagree with this fact for specific reasons.

One can not argue certain advantages that early working brings about. By getting access to money through hard work, children will soon develop their materialistic appreciation, hence they will know how to pay properly. For example, they will refrain from buying, or asking parents, to buy such expensive toys or clothes. Moreover, being exposed to competitive environment, youngsters are provided with a golden opportunity to extend social relationships as well as being far more mature than those of the same age.

Nevertheless, letting or forcing children to work should be considered as morally wrong. Apparently, children deserve a peaceful childhood; a day consists of studying, playing with friends, eating and sleeping. Under no circumstances, personally, are children allowed to make a living, which will exert severe pressure as well as hinder their physical developments and scholastic performances.

Moreover, children are susceptible to social danger due to their vulnerability. They might get kidnapped, prosituted or cruelly punished during work. Those brutality may ingrain traumatic obsessions in their mind as they grow up.

All in all, working under payment has its pros and cons. However, from my personal view, it may yield more negative than positive results on children, which indicates that they should postphone working for cash until fully mature.