Children's, Family's Separation at the border
Korina Chavez
Jean Akers
English 102: Lesson 10 Rough Draft
11 June 2025
In 2018, they initiated the "Zero Tolerance" policy, marking the beginning of many
family separations. In particular, children were getting separated from their families. They
were just separated from their families they were left alone to fend for themselves. This led
to a big problem and caused a lot of trauma within these children. Unfortunately, there
have been many cracks in our system where we are failing to help these children. In this
essay, I will be talking about the effects of children's separation from their families. As well
as the after effects of trauma from these children, and why it's so important to talk about
this.
This has been an ongoing issue for several years, but since the "Zero Tolerance" policy
came into issue, mass deportations were going on and more people were getting affected.
It all started when Trump was a candidate to become president; his main initiative was the
mass deportation of immigrants. He stated this was going to be his first policy when he
became the president. When he came into office, that was his first action was to
implement the "Zero Tolerance" policy, and it affected many people, including the children.
When this came into effect, many children were affected, with more than 5,000 children
taken away from their families. In a more recent report on November 30, 2023, 1,000
children remained separated from their families. To this day, it has still been an ongoing
issue that the government has stated it will act upon it, but hasn't.
The extent of this issue is the long-term effects these children are experiencing from
separated families. Many psychologists have received data and research to help them
understand the problem and its extent. Luis Zayas was one of the psychologists that Zayas
highlighted the systemic issues that affected these children. He made observations from
his interaction with displaced children and the negative consequences of family
separation. There was an article from Dr. Jacek Debiec, who was an assistant professor of
psychiatry and studied the impact of parents and children separating at the border, and
expressed the early trauma on the brain in these children. There was also an article on
children's separation from the news by the human rights organization. They stated that as
many as 1360 children have never been reunited with their parents. The sad realization is
that these children have never seen their families, and that is a lot of trauma.
These children are experiencing trauma from being separated from their families. This
long-term trauma can cause even worse precautions for the children.
Prolonged trauma can also affect children with excessive inflammation, genetic changes,
and abnormal physiological functioning. Excessive inflammation can cause autoimmune
diseases and heart disease, and can affect the body in a very harsh way. As well as trauma,
it can also cause mental health issues. Such as PTSD and depression, and many of these
children don't even have the care or aid to help them with these problems. This all occurs
because they were separated from their families, so they don't have any support or help
with the aftereffects of the trauma.
As an individual, there are many ways to help these children. Many organizations provide
help. You can always donate to these organizations and help these children. There are
many organizations out there, like the Legal Aid Organizations, Shelter and Humanitarian
Aid, and Organizations Providing Various Services. These organizations help many children
with aid and support. There is also volunteering that you can do to help in person and be
there for them. There are many ways to help and be there for these children that need it the
most, as this is just short-term help, it is still help.
The long-term effect of this cause is the help of the government. They need long-term
mental health services and trauma-informed care. They will also need educational support
because, due to them being separated, they will need aid to go to school and for food as
well. They will also need long-term benefits care, as well as legal assistance for them, and
community integration. There are many aids that these children need to help them with
their long-term goals. We need help to fund all of this, which the government needs to step
up to help, as they were the ones who separated these children from their families in the
first place.
In conclusion, these children need help. There are many ways to help these children,
either by volunteering or donating to these organizations. I do think the most important part
is to speak up about this situation. Many people aren't aware of the harsh reality of these
children getting separated. Many choose to look the other way or state it's not our problem,
but these are children with no voice and help that need us to step up.