Children should be required to help with household tasks.

Please review my Toefl ibt essay. Thanks a lot!

DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE WITH THE FOLLOWING STATEMENT?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, it is imperative to involve children in household chores. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, housework equips children with essential skills, which is beneficial to them in the future. By contributing to daily tasks and helping out around the house, kids learn to master housekeeping skills, which enables them to be more independent when they grow up and finally move out. Take my sister's experience as an example, three years ago, she moved to another city to pursue college education. Living away from parents presented a challenge as she had to deal with all the problems on her own. Nevertheless, since my sister was familiar with household chores from an early age, she had no difficulty keeping her new house running smoothly. She was able to cook for herself instead of eating out, which saves her a great amount of money. Furthermore, she can handle daily tasks such as doing the laundry, ironing or washing dishes with ease. She found her housekeeping skills extremely useful because it made her life much easier in many ways.

Secondly, assigning regular chores to kids also reinforces their respect for parents and teaches them accountability. Children tend to behave irresponsibly without thinking about the consequences of their actions. Requiring them to take part in household tasks helps them realize the importance of all the hard work that their parents do around the house. For instance, my younger brother used to have the habit of leaving all his toys behind for others to pick up after playtime. Thus, my parents decided to involve him in household chores, including cleaning the house twice a day, taking out the garbage, tidying his room and setting the table before meals. Sometimes, my brother felt exhausted after completing the tasks. He gradually understood that chores require a great deal of time and effort and realized all the burdens that his parents had to take on. As a consequence, he started to act more responsibly and develop greater respect and appreciation for his parents.

In conclusion, I believe that it is crucial to assign housework for children. This is because housework not only provides them with skills that better prepare them for future life but also increases their respect for parents and teaches them responsibility.