Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren

living in an extended family or not?

while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently.

Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Task

People have different views about the issue of whether living in an extended family or not. While there are benefits to grandparents live with their offspring, there are also good reasons why it might be beneficial to accommodate separately.

On the one hand, the option of grandparents living with their children is attractive owing to several reasons. Firstly, the older grandparents are, the weaker they become, so sometimes, they can not take care of themselves. Therefore, the progeny should live with their parents to look after them, especially when they get sick or ill. Secondly, it not only helps households to increase the quality of life but also grandchildren living with grandparents can gain many experiences from seniors. Moreover, it is much cheaper than living in a nursing home.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why it is favorably helpful that grandparents should live separately. First of all, almost houses in the hustle and bustle city are not large enough for the three-generation family. Thus, it is quite narrow to live together. Furthermore, the elder may be feeling alone because in office hours, their offspring go to work and their grandchildren go to school, so it is quite boring to stay home alone. Last but not least, they will feel free to stay independent. They can do whatever they want without being grumbling or complaining.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to live alone, provided that health and finances allow them to do this.