IELTS WRITING TASK 2 ABOUT COMMUNITY WORK

Prompt:

Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time.

This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It appears to some people that it should be made obligatory for adolescents to partake in public-oriented activities, while others declare their disapproval of the idea. From a personal standpoint, I am partly in favour of this.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that students involved in those voluntary work are capable of deriving some significant benefits at first hand. Firstly, these are occasions that students are destined for experience and knowledge accumulation. Namely, on going to sanatoriums to visit elders, they get a chance to receive some know-how tutorials about diaper renewal or cooking. Moreover, these are also considered to be wholesome recreational activities which both efficaciously help participants to get their second wind after successive stressful schooldays and concurrently equip them with necessary skills that are not included in mainstream education. Culturally viewing, these works are also communally well-intentioned. For example, on commissioning teenagers to clean up their neighbourhood, not only can they learn about trash classification, but also the betterment of environment status is brought about.

Nevertheless, social services can be time-consuming and energy-draining; thus, teenagers might be sidetracked from schoolwork. Additionally, teenagers from impoverished households or disadvantaged communities have bigger priorities such as to support their family income and their living conditions rather than committing to voluntary work. Requesting community services as a must for teenagers is a double-edged sword. When teenagers do community work voluntarily, their actions stem from pure intentions, and the most rewarding thing for them is the pleasure of creating values for others and the pride of displaying their independence and hidden abilities. Whereas when teenagers do community work under compulsion, the simple joy has dissipated, the obligatory so-called "social work" has become less appealing and a burden to some.

The bottom line of the argument is that the benefit of unpaid community work is dependent on the individual. Community work brings precious opportunities for teenagers to work and give back but requires responsibility and effort.