Some companies block their employees from using social media networks and websites such as facebook.

Employees in most companies nowadays are banned from using social media networks and websites by their executives with the aim of raising their working efficiency. Personally, I totally agree with this decision, prohibiting social media and websites will not only prevent employees from being distracted but also help them have the ability to work independently.

On the one hand, transferring internal information via social media such as Facebook can be significantly faster than communication, and employees with social networks could handle the work in a more flexible way, which can both be beneficial in terms of working quality and elevating work morale. On the subject of stabilizing worker moods, a wide variety of entertainment from social networks can ease the pressure of an overwhelming workload while also bonding the employees together.

On the other hand, to prevent a downturn in company revenue, a majority of companies enacted restrictions on social networking to keep employees away from unnecessary distractions from work. Indeed, overusing social networks during work may lead to possible mistakes, and soon employees will stop putting effort into their work. The leak of the company's internal documents was also a potential danger that many companies wanted to avoid. On top of that, allowing employees to access social media will cause them to rely on it; restricting them not only avoids the hazards described above but also allows them to develop themselves on their own.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that a ban on social networks will have a great impact on how companies work, even though social networks such as Facebook can help employees in minority ways. But with those reasons above, it seems that the workers should stop using social networking during work time to create a higher productivity in the workplace.