IELTS Task2: Social media and sharing personal information on different websites does have risks

Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongest all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.

Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that social media has revolutionized the way in which people communicate with each other, and it has affected people at different ages from children to the elderly. While I accept that sharing private information on the social platform might have dangerous effects. I believe that social media is more likely to be beneficial.

On the one hand, social media can be seen as negative for both security and psychological reasons. From a security perspective, social media has made people more likely to be exposed to cyber fraud. Information such as Email address, phone number and home address that the user puts on his profile are visible for everyone; therefore, criminals can use this information to pose as that user in order to commit crimes or to steal user's bank account for example. On a psychological level, social media considered to be addictive and productivity killer. That people today spend most of their time surfing social application, chatting with friends and watching video clips all of which are useless activates that have no beneficial outcome on one's life.

However, I would argue that these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits. Social media can have made it easier for people to find job opportunities. In social platforms such as Linkedin, people who are seeking new job share their qualification and experience, that way employers who looking for employees can easily find them using the web site system. In addition, social media also has facilitated the way in which people looking for a life partner. Every day, there are thousands of successful relationships created between couples who want to marry who are met on social media that otherwise they would never be met.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential benefits of social media are more significant than the possible risks.