TOEFL essay (compare work of artists and scientists)

It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its memebers. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by your society? Give specific reasons to support your answer.

Art provides a lot of benefits and improvements to our society. On the one hand, art enhaces the beauty of our country through masterpieces such as paintings, scultures, and magnificent buildings. On the other hand, art is a vehicle for communication and push minds to think and reflect in order to create an aware society. Moreover, art stimulates our imagination and it could be a space in which our minds can escape from this noisy and complicated world.

Scientists as well as art have played a crucial role in the society. Their contributions have improved our life'styles, health, and technology. Scientists' discoveries help us in many ways, not only broadening our knowledge, but making our day to day lives easier and confortable.

For what concerns my country, I believe that art is valued more by the society as nowadays Italy is more known and famous for arts, fashion, cinema, and design rather than his scientists. For example, Renzo Piano is a master in the architecture in all over the world, as well as Valentino, Dolce&Gabbana, Armani in the fashion. Our brands in these fields are exported abroad and many people admire and imitate our works. As other result, Italy have a lot of tourists every year who come here to look up personally our gems and beauties of excellent and unique artists such as Leonardo da Vinci, Bernini, Caravaggio. Still now, art is considered more important than scientist. That is proved by the goverment who invests more money to preserve art rather than to put money in scientists' researches.

In conclusion, for all these reasons, I believe that my society consider more estimated art as people are educated to appreciate it and they can experience art every day. People should protect their beauties and be proud of them.