(WRITING TASK 2) Cosmetic surgery

Topic; An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, the number of people opting for plastic surgery to alter their look has been dramatically growing. There are two main reasons behind this phenomenon including fostering self-confidence and having more career opportunities. However, I am utterly convinced that it is a negative trend. This essay will discuss my view as follows.

To commence with, the chief reason behind this issue is that numerous individuals want to boost their confidence through cosmetic operations. This is because people are often born with imperfect features that do not meet beauty standards in general; these features can reduce their self-esteem. As a result, they may want to upgrade their look and fix some of their imperfections through surgeries such as a nose job and lip job to become more confident about their look. The second reason is that having a good appearance can help people have more job opportunities. It can not be denied that having a better appearance can leave a better impression on employers which may increase the chance of getting recruited for the job. According to a recent survey in the USA, approximately 80% of employers said that a candidate with a good appearance and professional look is more likely to pass the interview because they look more trustworthy.

Despite the potential benefits it can bring about, I strongly believe that it is a negative trend due to the physical and psychological health risks. Regarding the former, going through cosmetic operations can carry a number of risks such as infection and post-operative complications. Therefore, patients' physical health can be affected badly in the long term and even have a high risk of death if the operations fail. Research in this field has shown that currently in VietNam, more than 30% of patients with breast augmentation have suffered from infection after the operation. Moreover, the patient's mental health can also deteriorate. Because beauty standards constantly change so after the operation, people may feel what they fixed is not up to that standard which may lead to depression. A survey in the medical field showed that 65% of Korean women who had nose surgery 5 years ago are dissatisfied with it and feel depressed now which contributed to their mental health issues.

In conclusion, the reasons that triggered this trend are boosting self-confidence and gaining more job opportunities. From my point of view, this is a negative development because of the physical and psychological risks it brings.