In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns

Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, prioritising country's wealthiness over other sectors by the government is a topic of interest. In my opinion, although this measurement might seem beneficial for the development of countries, the authorities should emphasize more on non-economic industries.

On the one hand, all focusing on economic progress is advantageous for citizens in a certain extent. First, economic funding afford the infrastructure be modernized, facilitating convenience for citizens and public transports. Therefore, these people will commute to workplace conveniently as well as freight transportation. This acts as precursor to decrease emissions, traffic jams and generate a more green friendly environment for citizens. Economic investment also empower government to accumulate coffers, this could lead to increased budget and reduced tax, that will better their life quality, enhance well-being and fulfillment. For example, Vietnam as a developing country, under the ingenious leadership of authorities, are often considered as a nation that perpetuate heightened rate of economic growth and happiness.

Despite the aforementioned benefits, I would content that this over-emphasis on wealthiness of the country without deliberate calculation, in fact, can result in dire repercussions. The government who fail to enact policies can cause a breakdown in the production economy that put a strain on business companies and domestic consumers. Take a case in Venezuela as an example, inconsiderate measurement cause citizens suffer from the hyperinflation, which accelerate money prices, interrupt manufacturing and frozen credit. The main reason is the managers might exaggerate the importance of oil industry, which have been the main thriving factor of their economy. Furthermore, on the ground of fixed budget, the government would lack of investment in non-economic industries if they allocate the budget on economic sectors. Such as the healthcare sector, the government in above mentioned case might have diversified their fund into this to ensure health for the citizen, especially the employment force.

In conclusion, although prioritising economic growth above all other concerns might seem the most expedient policy to generate a prosperous economy, I believe that the government should conduct these practice with a great care