More countries are opening their doors to welcome more tourist

Question: International tourism has become cheaper and more countries are opening their doors to welcome more tourist. What are the benefits and the drawbacks?

The advantages and disadvantages of tourism industry

Today, tourism industry has become cheaper and trigger several countries to open their region for more tourism journeys. This issue possibly contains merits and demerits toward the country itself, which those will be elaborated more by this essay.

Currently, majority of countries have computed certain sector, particularly tourism industry, which contributes significantly to national income. Moreover, a number of developed countries are prioritizing this industry as the core of their economy. It is happened because this industry can elevate public income by several ways. For example, it could potentially boost productivity of local handicrafts and resorts which are provided by local community. Therefore, they would possibly earn more income and enhance job opportunity directly, then these will contribute to national income indirectly.

Turning to the drawbacks, the development of tourism industry sometimes causes negative impact, such as related to property ownership domination and local identity aspect. Firstly, this industry could perhaps become a threat to local citizen, if the industry is uncontrollable by enhancement of comers investment. Today, certain region well-known as tour place have been dominated by foreigner investment, such as coast area with its beautiful beach, highland area with its enjoyable landscape, or even farming field which is converted as an interesting resort. Thus, the property ownership will change over from local citizen to the investor. Secondly, this industry might possibly make the local identity worse. For example, traditional dance which just become an entertainment will reduce the sense correlated with its local wisdom.

Based on elaboration above, the development of tourism industry which become cheaper today should be considered comprehensively to gain more benefits and reducing the drawbacks.