IELTS WRITING TASK 02 - COUNTRYSIDE POPULATION

Topic: In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a lot of nations on the globe, inhabitants in the countryside are relocating to urban areas, so the population in rural regions is gradually diminishing. In my opinion, this is completely a negative trend.

That plenty of residents in the countryside flock to cities might be reasonable. This is mainly because they are in search of job opportunities. The sprawling cities are full of occupations in various fields, from manual to intellectual labor. Such dynamic working environments attract thousands of youngsters from surrounding provinces on an annual basis, contributing to the economy of one nation. In contrast, there are little or almost no occupations in the countryside, having no appeal to young workers, particularly the ones from underprivileged backgrounds.

However, I totally believe that this is a negative development. One of the primary issues is the severe impact on healthcare services. The more citizens means the more patients as well as more serious pressure on medical employees and facilities. Take ChoRay Hospital - a renowned general hospital in Saigon, Vietnam - for example; it welcomes several million visitors daily. Medical accommodation and supplies are always in overwhelmed state due to this tension, causing adversities for doctors and nurses to take good care of all the patients. Another problem is high rate of crime in major cities. According to official newspapers, most of the criminals in urban zones are residents from the countryside, undermining the beautiful image of these economic hotspots. Also, the increasing number of crime cases is likely to result in difficulties for police investigation. Local authorities, as a consequence, have to devise more solutions to minimize the overall crime proportion, thus distributing more finance to do so.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the high quantity of people from the countryside move to big cities is a negative trend because of the above reasons.