Is it more crucial for students to know ideas and concepts than to learn some facts?

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning facts is like cramming the subjects making the mind dormant while understanding the concepts and ideas behind the facts is like developing a subject making the mind creative. Thus, it appears to me that it is important for students to know the rationale behind a particular fact rather than memorizing the facts.

People believe that medical science is all about cramming the universal facts of already discovered medicines that which medicine is the cure of which disease. Most of the medical students tend to learn them but there are few who tries to know about the origin of the medicine and relates it with the treatment of a particular disease. I did the same, it helped me not only remembering the names of medicines but I am able to distinguish the effects and impact of drugs on body. This has led me to believe in traditional cure of illnesses as the origin of most of the drugs is in ancient science only. I got interested in Ayurveda. How our body is formed and how our lifestyle negatively impact our body and eventually make us go to doctors with debilitating diseases. Thus, I believe that learning concepts of medicines behind the facts intrigued me to learn about human anatomy and why our ancestors were more healthy than us ? I can say that knowing about the real picture behind what we see give us a new meaning behind a fact and helps us to remember them forever.

In school time, I had friends who were not so good in Maths . How hard they try , they were not able to improve in their exams. The reason was cramming the mathematical problems. They never tried to understand how a problem is solved rather crammed up the whole textbook. Whereas the students who understood the concepts though were not able to cover full text book, still were able to score better in exams because problems were different as compared to books but with the same notion . Thus, it is evident that learning facts would lead to failure until or unless one is not aware of the basic objective behind it.

I recently saw on Television , a school boy made a watch at home and was rewarded by American President. These kind of discoveries are made only when a person knows what was the design of making a watch . If students will start learning facts, there will be no more discoveries in future. As the adage goes," To discover is to create" and adding further "To create is to forget about the certainty ".

In a nutshell, I would say there are certain truth like in history that first scientist to reach moon is Neil Armstrong is a veritable sentence that one needs to remember as a part of their General knowledge. But when it comes to making your own history, one should know the drift that made Neil Armstrong to reach the moon.