Writing IELTS Task 2 - Culture and Tradition

Admiring the foreign famous stars, and neglecting own identity

TASK : MANY YOUNG PEOPLE TO KNOW ABOUT INTERNATIONAL POP AND MOVIE STARS FAMOUS PEOPLE IN THE HISTORY OF THEIR COUNTRIES. WHAT ARE THE CAUSES? GIVE SOLUTIONS TO INCREASE THE NUMBER OF PEOPLE TO KNOW ABOUT FAMOUS PEOPLE IN HISTORY.

History is one of the most important parts of every country's culture. However, these days, foreign stars in music and movies seem to be better known among teenagers than historical people in their country. There are some reasons for this issue and I would like to suggest some possible ways to make people know more about the countries historically famous people.

To commence with, this issue comes about as a result of the globalization in this day and age. With the advance of the media and technology, people are able to assess to the for encounter especially through music and films. Secondly, that international stars are more famous is because of people's need of relaxation. Teenagers tend to listen to music and watch movies in their free time as leisure activities. As the foreign music may have more catchy lyrics and foreign idols and stars may be good-looking, young people are easily attracted and try to find out more information. One more reason that contributes to this issue is the fact that national history is not attractive enough to get youngers' interest. Historical documents tend to be so lengthy and boring that they can only attract those who are truly and honestly interested in, not most people. That is a sad reality among teenagers these days.

For these reasons that are some possible actions that should be taken to improve the situation. Obviously we cannot forcr anyone to stop listening to their favorite singers' music or stop watching their favorite actors' films. What we should do is to find the ways to attract more people to historical values. There are some comics and cartoons that are created based on historic events. They are so attractive and appealing that they can raise people's interest in history. This is a good and creative method that should be kept going on. Another way is that the authorities can organize an annual competition about the ideas to make historical events more attractive that can be applied in education. By doing this we can keep historical values alive and better known day by day.

To conclude, knowing much about international stars is good in some ways, as their music and films help you to relax and sometimes give you the motivation to live better. However, no one should forget their own origin, their own country's history, and so do the teenagers. Admiring the foreign famous without ignoring our history is something that we should do in order to integrate without being assimilated.